Ben Blackstock Award

Named for retired Oklahoma Press Association Executive Director Ben Blackstock, this award recognizes a non-governmental person or organization that has shown a commitment to freedom of information.

2018: Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters
2017: Joey Senat, Ph.D., Associate Professor, OSU School of Media & Strategic Communications
2016: Ziva Branstetter, Editor-in-Chief, The Frontier
2015: Joey Stipek, University of Oklahoma student
2014Joel Rabin and Sharon Hurst, residents of Bartlesville, Okla.
2013Bartlesville Examiner-Enterprise
2012: Nicholas Harrison, student of the University of Oklahoma College of Law and reporter for The Oklahoma Daily
2011: The Oklahoman
2010: Tulsa World
2009: Mark Thomas, Executive Vice President, Oklahoma Press Association
2008: Ben Blackstock, Executive Director, Oklahoma Press Association, retired