The deadline for nominations for 2016 is March 17, 2017.

The awards will be presented April 7 as part of the program “A Night of Sunshine.”

Nominations must include a letter of no more than 250 words justifying why the person or organization is deserving of the award. Nominations may be made via email to or mailed to FOI Awards, PO Box 5315, Edmond, OK 73083-5315.

The awards are:
Marian Opala First Amendment Award.  Named for the late state Supreme Court  Justice Marian Opala, this award recognizes individuals who have promoted education about or protection of the individual rights guaranteed by the First Amendment.

Ben Blackstock Award: Named for retired Oklahoma Press Association Executive Director Ben Blackstock, this award recognizes a non-governmental person or organization that has shown a commitment to freedom of information.

Sunshine Award: Recognizes a public official or governmental body that has shown a commitment to freedom of information.

Black Hole Award: Recognizes an individual, agency or organization that has most thwarted the free flow of information.